Bree Ogden







Bree Ogden joined D4EO in November 2011, after having been an associate literary agent at Martin Literary Management for nearly 2 years representing children’s, YA, and graphic novels.

Bree graduated with her BA in Philosophy from Southern Virginia University where she served as editor-in-chief of the University’s newsmagazine. She was awarded Most Valuable Player and Editor of the Year, as well as SVU’s Pioneer Award, an honor the University awards to two students each year. She then received her MA in Journalism with an emphasis in editing and expository writing at Northeastern University where she worked on both the New England Press Association Bulletin, and also served as the features editor of the premier campus music magazine, Tastemakers Magazine.

Bree has spent many years working as a freelance journalist and currently co-operates the macabre children’s magazine Underneath the Juniper Tree where she serves as Editorial Director. Bree is an instructor and columnist for the Web site LitReactor.com where she teaches Intro to Graphic Novel Writing. Bree is also the newest judge for the Ghastly Awards--Honoring Excellence in Horror Comics, and comics writers at BloodyDisgusting.com.


• Email submissions only, query first. bree@d4eo.com
• Paste the first five pages of your novel below your query
• No attachments

Seeking:

*NOTE: I am actively seeking children's/YA nonfiction. NO memoir unless you have a gigantic platform (i.e., The Pregnancy Project). I would love something in the vein of The Letter Q, Dare to Dream!: 25 Extraordinary Lives, The Forbidden Schoolhouse, or a Starvation Heights type historical fiction. 

~Highly artistic picture books (high brow art, think Varmints)
~Middle grade (generally horror) 
~Young Adult
~New Adult (no erotica, please)
~Adult (very specific genres, see below)
~Graphic Novels (preferably artist/illustrator OGNs)
~Nonfiction (no heavy academic, rather pop culture and journalism or essays, think Kelley Williams Brown, David Sedaris, Chuck Klosterman. MUST have platform, no memoirs)
~Humor
~Pop Culture
~Art books
~Unapologetically bizarre books
~Macabre literature for children

In Adult:

~Transgressive fiction
~Genre horror
~Genre noir
~Genre romance 
~Gothic literature 

*I am no longer looking at science fiction and I have never accepted paranormal/supernatural/fantasy. 

Bree’s wish list: (don’t limit your queries to these!)

• Dark (not angst-ridden), brutal death is welcome ;)
• Realistic
• Psychological horror (with no paranormal elements)
• A Dexter-ish type YA black comedy with quirky edge (COMEDY and QUIRKY being the operative words)
• Historical for YA
• Speculative historical fiction, especially crime-centric. MSS about notorious serial killers or famous murder victims (i.e., The Black Dahlia, Lizzie Borden, etc.)
• A unique and theme-driven art book
• Any book dealing with Anne Boleyn or Marie Antoinette (historical fiction, not nonfiction)


For an idea of my tastes in art books check out the following:

• Camilla d’Errico
• Mark Ryden
• Nicoletta Ceccoli
• Matthew J. Price
• Marion Peck
• Elizabeth McGrath

You can also see my #MSWL (manuscript wish list) here for more ideas on my tastes.

A sample of recent sales include:


Rob Hart's NEW YORKED, in which a man wakes up to a hangover and several disturbing voicemails from his ex; when she turns up dead, he tears apart the seedy underbelly of New York to avenge her death, to Bryon Quertermous at Exhibit A.






Jody Gehrman's MINX, in which a sexy but insecure copywriter decides to boost her ego with one night of anonymous fantasy play, only to find out after the fact that Mr. Fantasy is her Mr. CEO, to Dana Hamilton at Harlequin Cosmo Red Hot Reads.








Anne Tibbets's CARRIER, in which a sex slave, thrown out on the street once she becomes pregnant, must find a replacement or fight with the resistance, to Rhonda Helms at Carina Press.





Brooklyn Skye's THE FRAGILE LINE, a teenage girl's journey to a proper diagnosis of dissociative identity disorder, a disorder that has all but ruined her relationship with her family, boyfriend, and friends is the least of her problems when her alter is looking to take over her life... for good, to Alycia Tornetta at Entangled Teen.



D.M. Cunningham's NILES WORMWART, following a science genius who is thrust into a world he only thought existed in comic books, he must discover his true potential inside the walls of Camp Mayhem-the potential to become the darkest of evils or stay true to his good-hearted roots, to Trisha Wooldridge at Spencer Hill Press.





Read more...

The Agency

7 Indian Valley Road

Weston, CT 06883

phone: 203-544-7180

fax: 203-544-7160

Copyright

© Blog Content

by D4EO Literary Agency 2010 /

All Rights Reserved.